La Rafle du Vél’ d’Hiv’

La Rafle du Vél’ d’Hiv’ (historischer Hintergrund)

« Chassez les Papillons Noirs » – die Biographie von Sarah Lichtsztejn-Montard

(Für Informationen über Roman Krokes Projekt zu diesem Thema klicken Sie bitte die Menüs rechts vom weißen Pfeil)

Als « La Rafle du Vél‘ d’Hiv‘ » wird die größte Razzia an Juden auf französischen Territorium bezeichnet, die am 16. und 17. Juli 1942 in Paris von französischer Polizei durchgeführt wurde. Vor der Deportation in die Vernichtungslager Osteuropas wurden mehr als 13.000 Männer, Frauen und Kinder in einer als Sammellager umfunktionierten Radsporthalle – dem Vélodrome d’Hiver -zusammengepfercht. Diese Aktion des mit Nazi-Deutschland kollaborierenden Vichy-Regimes unter dem Maréchal Pétain war jahrzehntelang ein Tabuthema in Frankreich. Erst am 16. Juli 1995 entschuldigte sich der damalige französische Staatspräsident Jacques Chirac öffentlich.

« Chassez les Papillons Noirs » (Verjagt die schwarzen Schmetterlinge) ist die Biographie der Holocaust-Überlebenden Sarah Lichtsztejn-Montard. Sie erzählt darin, wie ihr als Jugendliche zusammen mit ihrer Mutter zunächst die Flucht aus dem Vél‘ d’Hiv‘ gelingt, bevor sie dann aber zwei Jahre später von Nachbarn verraten und nach Auschwitz deportiert werden; beide überleben die sog. Todesmärsche und werden am 15. April 1945 von britischen Truppen im Lager Bergen-Belsen befreit.

Video-Interview mit Sarah Lichtsztejn-Montard (3-teilig): http://www.fondationshoah.org/FMS/spip.php?article1530&lang=f

Weiterführende Informationen:

Webseiten:

http://www.fondationshoah.org/FMS/spip.php?article1530&lang=fr

http://rememberme.ushmm.org/updates/entry/remembering-the-vel-dhiv-roundup1

http://www.yadvashem.org/yv/en/holocaust/france/vel_dhiv_roundup.asp

http://www2.warwick.ac.uk/knowledge/culture/roundups/

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/07/21/opinion/la-rafle-vel-dhiv-anniversary-exhibition.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

http://www.ambafrance-de.org/70-Jahre-nach-der-rafle-du-Vel-d

http://www.arte.tv/de/6754028.html#/box/veldhiv/de/das-projekt/

Chassez les Papillons noirs (2011)

Illustration von Roman KROKE

2011 fertigte Roman Kroke die Illustration Chassez les Papillons noirs zur Biographie von Sarah Lichtsztejn-Montard an. Hierbei handelte es sich um eine Auftragsarbeit für den Dokumentarfilm Ich bin (2011) von André Bossuroy, gefördert durch die Europäische Kommission (-> Dokumentarfilm). Im Rahmen der Dreharbeiten reiste Roman Kroke mit dem Filmteam nach Paris, traf und interviewte dort Sarah Lichtsztejn-Montard.

Zur Illustration: Sarah erzählte ihm, wie sie im Vernichtungslager Auschwitz zusammen mit den anderen Mädchen häufig den Refrain « Chassez les Papillons Noirs … » (Verjagt die schwarzen Schmetterlinge) des Liedes Le disque usé (1943) von Édith Piaf sang (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vS5X0BRB12s). Musik blieb für Sarah zeitlebens eine Quelle der Stärkung und der Freude. Aus diesem Grund wählte sie auch den Refrain « Chassez les Papillons Noirs … » zum Titel ihrer Biographie. Die Illustration von Roman Kroke stellt eine Symbiose her zwischen diesem biographischen Anknüpfungspunkt und der universellen Frage, wie ein Mensch traumatischen Erfahrungen begegnen und sie – zumindest teilweise – in eine kreative Kraft umzuwandeln vermag.

Auf Grundlage seiner künstlerischen Arbeit zum Rafle du Vél‘ d’Hiv‘ realisiert Roman Kroke in Kooperation mit Schulen, Universitäten, Museen, Stiftungen etc.

Die Illustration Chassez les Papillons Noirs (2011) ist als Kunstdruck auch auf gerahmter Leinwand erhältlich („Giclée“ Fine-Art Print):

                    K U N S T D R U C K E

        


Ich bin (2011)

Dokumentarfilm von André BOSSUROY

Roman Krokes Illustration Chassez les Papillons noirs zur Biographie von Sarah Lichtsztejn-Montard war eine Auftragsarbeit für den Dokumentarfilm Ich bin von André Bossuroy, gefördert durch die Europäische Kommission (2011).

Ich bin ist ein Dokumentarfilm, der sich mit dem Gedenken an die Opfer des Nationalsozialismus und Stalinismus auseinandersetzt. Vier junge Europäer begegnen auf ihrer Rundreise durch Europa Zeugen der Vergangenheit … Sie wandeln auf den Spuren von Ereignissen des Zweiten Weltkrieges – in Deutschland (die Widerstandsbewegung der Weißen Rose in München), Frankreich (die Massenrazzia „La Rafle du Vél’ d’Hiv’“ in Paris, die Widerstandsbewegung im Vercors) und Russland (das Massaker von Katyn). Dabei erforschen sie, welchen Einfluss diese Ereignisse auf die Identitätsbildung der jeweiligen europäischen Völker gehabt haben und immer noch haben.

Film ONLINE

(zweiter Film von oben – zum Thema „La Rafle du Vél’ d’Hiv’“ siehe Teil II):

Originalversion: Französisch

Verfügbare Untertitel: de, engl., pol., russ., niederl.

The Vél’ d’Hiv Roundup

The Vel’ d’Hiv’ Roundup (historical background)

« Chassez les Papillons Noirs » (Chase away the black butterflies) – the biography of Sarah Lichtsztejn-Montard

(For information about Roman Kroke’s project on this topic, please click the menus right from the white arrow)

The term “Vel’ d’Hiv’ Roundup” designates the biggest razzia of Jews on French territory, which was carried out by French policemen in Paris on 16 and 17 July 1942. Before being deported to the extermination camps in Eastern Europe, over 13.000 men, women and children were detained in the “Winter”-stadium (Vélodrome d’Hiver) under very poor conditions. This action organized by the French Vichy-Regime collaborating with Hitler-Germany had been a taboo in France for a long time. It was not before 16 July 1995 that the French President Jacques Chirac acknowledged for the first time French complicity in the Holocaust.

« Chassez les Papillons Noirs » (Chase away the black butterflies) is the title of the biography of the holocaust survivor Sarah Lichtsztejn-Montard. In her biography she tells how, as a fourteen year old girl, she first managed to escape from the Winter velodrome together with her mother, before being denounced by neighbours about two years later and deported to Auschwitz; both survive the death march and are finally liberated by British troops in the camp Bergen-Belsen on 15. April 1945.

Video-Interview with Sarah Lichtsztejn-Montard (3 parts): http://www.fondationshoah.org/FMS/spip.php?article1530&lang=f

Additional Information:

Websites:

http://www.fondationshoah.org/FMS/spip.php?article1530&lang=fr

http://rememberme.ushmm.org/updates/entry/remembering-the-vel-dhiv-roundup1

http://www.yadvashem.org/yv/en/holocaust/france/vel_dhiv_roundup.asp

http://www2.warwick.ac.uk/knowledge/culture/roundups/

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/07/21/opinion/la-rafle-vel-dhiv-anniversary-exhibition.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

http://www.ambafrance-de.org/70-Jahre-nach-der-rafle-du-Vel-d

http://www.arte.tv/de/6754028.html#/box/veldhiv/de/das-projekt/

Chassez les Papillons noirs (2011)

Illustration by Roman KROKE

In 2011, Roman Kroke created the illustration Chassez les Papillons noirs (Chase away the black butterflies) which is based on the biography of the holocaust survivor Sarah Lichtsztejn-Montard. The illustration was a commissioned artwork for the documentary film Ich bin (2011) by André Bossuroy, sponsored by the European Commission.

With respect to the concept of the illustration: When Roman met Sarah in Paris on occasion of the shooting of the film Ich bin, Sarah told him that during her imprisonment in the extermination camp Auschwitz-Birkenau she and the other girls often sang the refrain « Chassez les Papillons Noirs … » (Chase away the black butterflies) of the song Le disque usé (1943) by Édith Piaf (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vS5X0BRB12s). In fact, for Sarah music has been an invigorating force and source of joy throughout the entire life.  The therefore also chose the refrain « Chassez les Papillons Noirs … » as the title of her biography. In his illustration Roman Kroke creates a symbiosis between this biographic reference and the universal question of how a human being may cope with traumatic experiences and transform them – at least partly – into a creative impetus.

On the basis of this artwork Roman Kroke realizes in cooperation with schools, universities, museums, foundations etc.:

The illustration Chassez les Papillons Noirs (2011) is also available as „Giclée“ Fine Art Print on canvas, stretched over a wooden frame:

                      Fine-Art  P R I N T

        


Ich bin (2011)

Documentary film by André BOSSUROY

Roman Kroke’s illustration Chassez les Papillons noirs (Chase away the black butterflies), based on the biography of Sarah Lichtsztejn-Montard, was a commissioned artwork for the documentary film Ich bin (2011) by André Bossuroy, sponsored by the European Commission.

Ich bin is a historical documentary addressing the memory of the victims of Nazism and of Stalinism. Four young Europeans meet with historians and witnesses of our past. They investigate diverse events of the Second World War in Germany (the student movement of the White Rose in Munich), in France (the Vél’ d’Hiv’ Roundup in Paris as well as the resistance in Vercors) and in Russia (Katyn forest massacre). They examine the impact of these events; curious to how the European peoples are creating their identities today.

Film ONLINE

(second film from the top  – for the episode on the “Vél’ d’Hiv’ Roundup” see part II):

Original version: French

Available subtitles: German, English, Polish, Russian, Dutch